Hot News

Luxor City


Luxor nickname

Luxor is nicknamed the City of the Hundred Gates or the City of the Sun. previously known as Thebes. It is the capital of Egypt in the Pharaonic time. Luxor has habitually been portrayed as the "world's most noteworthy outdoors historical center", as the remnants of the Egyptian sanctuary buildings at Karnak and Luxor stand inside the advanced city. Promptly inverse, across the River Nile, lie the landmarks, sanctuaries and burial places of the west bank Theban Necropolis, which incorporates the Valley of the Kings and Valley of the Queens. Large number of travelers from one side of the planet to the other show up yearly to visit Luxor's landmarks, contributing significantly to the economy of the advanced city.

luxor, egypt
Luxor City

The area of Luxor is around 416 km², the occupied region is 208 km², and its populace is roughly 487,896 individuals, as per the 2010 statistics. What's more, its associated towns are Al-Bayyadiyah, Al-Adaysat Bahri, Al-Adaisat Qibli, Al-Tood, Al-Baghdadi, Al-Habil. It is said that Luxor contains about 33% of the world's landmarks, and it additionally incorporates numerous antiquated Pharaonic landmarks separated into the eastern and western shores of the city. The eastern central area incorporates the Luxor Temple, Karnak Temple, Rams Road connecting the two sanctuaries, and Luxor Museum. Concerning the western bank, it incorporates the Valley of the Kings, Deir el-Bahari Temple, Valley of the Queens, Deir El-Madina, the Ramesseum Temple, and the Colossi of Memnon.

The establishing of the city of Thebes traces all the way back to the time of the Fourth Dynasty around 2575 BC, and until the period of the Middle Kingdom, Thebes was something like a gathering of basic contiguous cottages, and regardless of that it was utilized as a graveyard to cover the dead. Then, the city of Thebes later turned into the capital of Egypt in the time of the Eleventh Egyptian Dynasty on account of Pharaoh Mentuhotep I, who prevailed with regards to joining the country again after the mayhem that came upon Egypt in the period of the principal rot, and the city of Thebes stayed the capital of the Egyptian state until the fall of the standard Pharaohs and the Thirty-first Dynasty because of the Persians 332 BC.

Luxor City.

Why Luxor was called this name?

Luxor was known through various ages by many names, at its starting it was known as the city of West, then the Romans called it Thebes from that point forward, and it was likewise called the city of 100 doors, as depicted by the Greek writer Homer in the Iliad, and it was additionally called the "City of the Sun." "The City of Light," and "The City of the Scepter." After the Arab triumph of Egypt, the Arabs referred to it as "Luxor," which is the plural of the word castle, as the city contained numerous royal residences of the Pharaohs. The underpinning of the city of Thebes traces all the way back to the period of the Fourth Dynasty around 2575 BC.

Luxor landmarks

West bank:

  • Valley of the Kings.
  • Valley of the Queens.
  • Medinet Habu (memorial temple of Ramesses III).
  • The Ramesseum (memorial temple of Ramesses II).
  • Deir el-Medina (workers' village).
  • Tombs of the Nobles.Deir el-Bahari (Mortuary Temple of Hatshepsut, etc.).
  • Malkata (palace of Amenophis III).
  • Colossi of Memnon (memorial temple of Amenophis III).
  • Al-Asasif cemetery.

East bank: